From the history

The Dachstein was first climbed by Peter Gappmayr in the summer of 1832. A few years later, in 1847, Friedrich Simony made his first winter ascent, after which the Simonyhütte was named.

In 2014, Upper Austria received a total of 25 000 square meters of the Dachstein glacier back from the province of Styria. After the passing of a law in the 1950s, which had defined the state borders, this was reversed in that year. Only a few know that a large part of the Dachstein massif is located in Upper Austria and belongs to Obertraun.

The Dachstein massif

Regions: Upper Austria, Styria Salzburg
Highest peak: Hoher Dachstein ( 2 995 m)

more peaks: Niederer Dachstein (2 934 m),
Hoher Gjaidstein (2 794 m), Taubenkogel (2 300 m),
Hoher Krippenstein (2 108 m), Rumpler (2 022 m)

Glaciers:Hallstatt's glacier, big Gosau glacier, small Gosau glacier, Schladming's glacier

skiing area: Freesports Arena Dachstein Krippenstein

Especially for: long distance hikers, climbers, ski tourers, snow shoe hikers, panorama seekers, cave lovers

© View on the impressive Dachstein (photo: OOE Tourismus / Himsl)
View on the impressive Dachstein (photo: OOE Tourismus / Himsl)

fun fact

Until about 1970, the height of the Hohe Dachstein was given as 3 004 m, apparently for tourist reasons.